Featured Staff Bio at HSL

abby-dana-04-2x3-color1Dana Abbey:

While pursuing my undergraduate degree, I needed to find a position where I worked only nights and weekends. I was lucky enough to land a position at a public library, and continued to work there another 13 years. During those years, I earned my Masters in Library Science, worked in nearly every library department, and held supervisory and management positions. After leaving the public library, I worked for several years in drug testing and served as a library consultant.

For the past 10 years I have worked for the Health Sciences Library in a program sponsored by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) called the National Network of Libraries of Medicine (NN/LM). I am a regional coordinator for community engagement, which means I work with those who need health information – from physicians, to librarians, to community-based organizations, to community members. I travel throughout the state, learning about communities and developing ways to address their health information needs.

I never thought about a career in libraries, but was glad I stayed in the library field!

Leave a Comment

