The Anschutz Medical campus is located on the former Fitzsimons Army Base, closed in 1999. Fitzsimons was opened in 1918, and was named in honor of Lt. Thomas Fitzsimons, of the Army Medical Corps, who was the first US officer killed in the First World War. The hospital was opened to care for returning soldier who suffered from respiratory disease. The Base remained a key Army Medical Center until its closure and the iconic main hospital, known as Building 500, is still the center of the campus. Visit the Library’s second floor exhibit space to further explore the history of Fitzsimons and view artifacts from its Army Medical Corps past.