Special Collections Featured Book for October

Let’s Pretend this Never Happened (a Mostly True Memoir)
2014_Lets_Pretend_this_Never_Happened

“When I tell people that my father is kind of a total lunatic, they laugh and nod knowingly. They assure me that theirs is too, and that he’s just a ‘typical father.’
And they’re probably right, if the typical father runs a full-time taxidermy business out of the house, and shows up at the local bar with a miniature donkey and a Teddy Roosevelt impersonator, and thinks other people are weird for making such a big deal out of it. If the typical father says things like ‘Happy birthday! Here’s a bathtub of raccoons!’ or ‘We’ll have to take your car. Mine has too much blood in it,’ then yeah, he’s totally normal. Still, I don’t remember any of the kids from Charles in Charge feeling around the deep freeze for the Popsicles and instead pulling out an enormous frozen rattlesnake that Charles had thrown in while it was still alive. Maybe I missed that episode. We didn’t watch a lot of TV.
That’s why whenever people try to tell me how their ‘insane father’ would sometimes fall asleep on the toilet, or occasionally catch the house on fire, I put my finger to their lips and whisper, ‘Hush, little rabbit. Let me give you perspective’.…”

Medical Humanities / Special Collections 3rd floor
WM 40 L425L 2012

Leave a Comment

