New Staff at HSL

Amanda Langdon at Wilson's OrchardHi, Readers. I’m Amanda Langdon, the new Appendix Newsletter compiler and editor. I’m also a (relatively) new staff member at the library, so in keeping with the New Staff biographies, here’s a bit about myself. I was born and raised in Colorado Springs, attending Salida High School before leaving the state for Cornell College in Iowa (not the one in Ithaca, New York). While at Cornell, I earned Bachelor’s degrees in Medieval Studies and Comparative Religion. After working at Cole Library, the only “private college/community-shared library in the nation” (according to their website), I decided to continue my education with an MLIS at the nearby University of Iowa. There I specialized in Archives, Special Collections, Rare Books & Manuscripts; I also obtained a graduate certificate in Book Studies/Book Arts from the University’s Center for the Book.

Degree(s) in hand, my next goal was to return to the Colorado mountains I had missed during nine long years away, and apply those newfound library skills. In September of 2013, I landed the job of Library Technician at the Anschutz Medical Campus Library. Here I have had the opportunity to learn Interlibrary Loan processes, have done a preliminary weeding of the Reference Collection, provided customer service at the main desk, and regularly closed the library. I am also a member of the Diversity Committee, and – as mentioned above – have become the editor of the Appendix Newsletter, due in large part to my love of writing.

Since 2001, I have been writing a medieval-based fantasy novel (series?), in addition to devouring scores of fantasy, historical fantasy, and historical fiction books. I love to ride horses, especially my Arabian mare boarded at my family’s property near Saguache. In 2009/2010, I was lucky enough to be able to study abroad in England and Wales. I intend to return as soon as my bank account is sufficiently replenished. Castles, Cathedrals, and History – Oh my!

Leave a Comment

